Archinect
anchor

I had a hiatus between graduating and now and feel under equipped starting as a Part 1 Architectural Assistant.

dylancutting

So long story short I Graduated in London in 2020 during lockdown. I delt with lockdown quite poorly with my mental health and working from home. I ended up with a worse grade then I was hoping aiming for. I then made the most of the on off lockdown getting help and sorting out my mental health. Now trying to get an Architectural Assist part 1 Role but feel woefully underprepared and under equipped for the position. My Uni didn’t want to teach Revit so I am now trying to teach my self but aside from that I’m well versed with Auto cad and a bit with rhino as far as draw programs go. I was hoping that I could get some advice either with getting a position, resources I can use, programs I should learn or CV and portfolio advice as I’m trying to touch them up now.

Thank you for your time.

Nov 11, 21 8:22 pm
K Way

Hi Dylan. I'm not an architect so I can't offer you any career advice. Just wanted you to know I read your post. I'm sorry to hear that the pandemic lockdown was hard on your mental health. You're not the only one. And, I too have felt under equipped in my career at times. Hope you've been able to sharpen you skills these last few months and found the right architecture position for you (or maybe something even better opened up?). I'm rooting for you!

Apr 17, 22 7:13 pm  · 
1  · 
Miyadaiku

As far as your CV goes, I hate to say "google it", but you really will find good tips and tricks on writing those for various stages of career on websites dedicated to this kind of stuff. You are trying to get an entry level position, so I wouldn't worry too much about having a "hiatus" especially if you are teaching yourself useful things during said gap. All you want the CV to do is get you a phone call, keep that in mind.