Archinect
anchor

NAAB Accredited vs. RIBA Accredited University

Hello,

I am a recent undergraduate from the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Architecture and plan to go back to grad school after I have some experience in the profession.I recently accepted a job offer in Olympia, WA. While working some of my coworkers suggested I look into schools around the area like Evergreen State College or the University of Washington so the firm can reimburse me for continuing education. While I would love to be reimbursed, I also considered going to school out of the country, specifically AA in London. I would like to go to AA because I am interested in its program and would love to learn from some of its professors. But, its degree may not be recognized in the states. I am not sure if I would work and settle in the states, but it's an option I still consider since my family is based here. Would it be worth it to gain AXP hours in the state and move across the country to go to grad school? If not, what are people's opinions on GSD and Cornell? Also, I am open to other graduate programs that are interdisciplinary and focused on urban planning, and sustainability.

Nov 4, 21 3:56 pm
Non Sequitur

Architecture degrees are not worth a decade (or more) of debt.  This is as much a financial decision as it is an education one.

Take the cheapest option with the most flexibility post graduation.

Nov 4, 21 4:09 pm  · 
 · 
TED

@Lauren Unless you plan to live long term in the UK it may not be worth your effort - so finalize your profession educational qualifications in the US. I am a U of Ill Chicago grad (when they had a 5 year program), completed NCARB exams and went on to AA. I live now permanently in the UK and never looked back.