Archinect
anchor

Changing from engineering to architecture

daniellez

Hi, I am currently a second-year B.Eng student, majoring in mechanical engineering. I chose engineering at first because I was always an achieving student in the pure sciences stream in high school and A levels, but I do not think that this is what I would like to do as a career. I like drawing and adore buildings and have been thinking whether I should switch courses to a B.Arch. However, many people have told me not to, just simply because "I will have better job choices if I have an engineering degree." Is that really so? 

Would appreciate advice from this community :) Thankss

Oct 27, 21 12:16 am
midlander

it will definitely pay less, possibly by about half at the entry level. longer term it's impossible to say, totally depends on your own talents and career path. I can testify that making a satisfying living at a middle class level as an architect is possible though.

Whether that trade off is worth it totally depends on your own circumstances and goals for your life. you can have a comfortable life as an architect, but it's a riskier and more difficult path than most engineering careers.

Oct 27, 21 1:44 am  · 
 · 
rcz1001

*** LONG POST NOTICE - Wall of Text | If you wish to rapidly move past my post, press the Page Down key a number of times and you'll rapidly scroll past the take... or hold down the key until the text scrolls up past the screen --- as there may be subsequent posts ***