Archinect
anchor

When do I make a portfolio?

KingsMake

So I have a B.Sc. in Business. I used all of my spare time to learn programs like Rhino, V-Ray, Adobe Suite and general design principles. I even created an architecture portfolio within the two years I started learning any software. I was attending a religious university with a crazy dual curriculum, so it was difficult to make. I was accepted to a few M.Arch I programs, but I did not get into GSD or GSAPP -schools I've visited, researched and really admire. This was 3 years ago. Since then, I've held jobs in CAD, rendering and industrial design. I learned so much throughout making that portfolio, but it is no where near what I can make now. I have newfound technical skills and better intuition for design but where does one find the time to make a portfolio? I've design a few products. Most of the jobs I had didn't produce anything useful to a portfolio (unless GSD wants to see renderings of watercoolers I did not design). I just landed a job at an architecture firm, but I doubt I will work on anything useful to my personal portfolio. I also want to mention that I am married and I need to work to pay the bills. My wife has a few more years of college. Is the goal to make enough money that I could take off a few months to work solely on a portfolio? Was anyone in a sort of similar situation? Most students accepted to M.Arch I programs usually have B.A.s in architecture. 

Thanks!

Sep 13, 21 10:51 am
Non Sequitur

Learning software is not important for a folio.  Sure, it will help produce (likely bland and generic, but whatever) visuals, but if there is no interesting creative content in those projects, then they get passed over.

A folio is not something you hash out from nothing in a few months.  It is supposed to be a reflection of who you are and how you resolve problems in creative ways and most will have condensed several year's worth of independent work into a few pages.  

Sep 13, 21 11:00 am  ·