Archinect
anchor

Bitcoin and the architect's economy

I'm an architect and I'm pretty interested in Bitcoin. I've done a lot of research and in my opinion, we're looking at a transformative technology that's here to stay.

I understand many won't agree, but walk with me on a hypothetical. The hypothetical is that Bitcoin becomes the global monetary standard. Simply put, this means a return to a hard (and limited) money with digital attributes. There are two main points I'm contemplating.

The first thought relates to hard, scarce money. In my professional experience I've observed how debt financing and outrunning inflation costs govern the sometimes breakneck urgency of work and construction. What would it be like if the project were carried out with a hard money like Bitcoin, one where the supply is known and limited? Where urgency to hurry and spend and build was less pervasive? In a disinflationary environment, money 'costs more' and the motivation to not spend increases, so spending is done more carefully. Some economists worry about this leading to stagflation, but eternal expansion has problems too.

The second thought relates to immediate settlement. The payment process can be astonishingly slow, cumbersome, and bogged down with intermediaries. On a Bitcoin standard, all settlement between parties is immediate and final. Bitcoin the asset is itself the bearer instrument. In this way it's like making a transaction in gold itself. It's fully collateralized and does not represent an obligation to tender. Further it involves no intermediary to process, no third party to custody, and can transact at any amount desired 24/7. How might this impact transparency, accountability, or trust between parties? How might a diminished cushion of debt financing change how we spend and build?