Archinect
anchor

Harvard MArch II & Bartlett School of Architecture MSc/MRes Info Needed

AceofArch

Hello Arch community,

I am a recent Canadian MArch grad who is interested in planning my next 5 years. I have three questions related to architectural education. I am planning on getting accredited in my home province and want to spend this time to also save money for my future educational aspirations. I want to go back to school because I enjoy doing research and while I'm currently interested in improving my practical knowledge, eventually I want to get back to theoretical questions. I also would love to work for one of the few firms which continues to design with more abstract principles. Ideally, I'd like to do Harvard's MArch II program or UCL Barttlett's Space Syntax MSc/MRes program. I love studying the spatial/cultural languages of cities/historic events and would be very drawn to this. So my questions are:

1) Will taking the time to get accredited effect my chances of getting accepted? I'm worried that schools will not be interested in a 35 year old student anymore. In my current degree there were tonnes of mature students with backgrounds in things extremely relevant to architecture, like architectural technologists and it just became laughable that they would be there, since they basically already knew everything.  

2) What do second Master's programs look for on applications. I had a decent (but not amazing average) in my bachelor's degree. In my Master's degree, I had really great grades and even got some scholarships. I also had a strong thesis project. However, at my program for some reason the MArch program doesn't give GPAs, just letter grades (not sure how it is at other schools). So I'm wondering if it's even worth it to try to apply to Harvard (although I heard that their GPA's of acceptance are low for the design school).