Archinect
anchor

Study in advance for Architecture Bachelor at ETH

masaru

Hello, I am currently a swiss highschool student and am looking forward to study architecture at the ETH next year when I finish highschool.

I know it is extremely tough there and would therefore really want to study the subject in advance so I can already have an idea of the content of the classes.
I really don't want to sound like a lazy guy but does anybody know if it is possible to find the content of there classes or something near somewhere (books, online, ...)?

I of course suppose that there content must be protected. Could you guys recommend me good academical architecture books that I could buy to build good university level knowledge ? It would be extremely kind and helpful!

Thank you for your time!

Jul 20, 21 2:48 pm
randomised

go travel and see the stuff they put in books in person...

Jul 20, 21 4:09 pm  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

and cary a sketchbook. bonus if you use it.

Jul 20, 21 4:42 pm  · 
 · 
masaru

In Zurich? I live in Geneva I wouldn't mind but idk if they would let me see the content of their course. Idk if it's even focused on books. It's maybe all oral.. (?)

Jul 20, 21 5:28 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Travelling and learning to sketch out quickly what you see and what you’re think about will be ten times more helpful than reading some random textbook (which likely does not exist).

Jul 20, 21 6:23 pm  · 
 · 
ODMA

The ETH curriculum is so rigorous. I lived with a guy in Zurich that studied the first three years of the programme, I almost fell over when he showed me his building science course curriculum: it was a massive printout with so much scope and detail, so you're unlikely to gain access to it. I'm endlessly impressed by the school though so you should enjoy your time there.