Archinect
anchor

Is transferring to UWaterloo from UBC worth it?

yomnaomer

Hello, 

This is my first thread here, I am really grateful because I found this website. Absolutely LOVE it!

Background: 

I'm graduating high school from a Calgary high school. My family lives here too, we are low-income and not really financially stable. I am a high achiever academically (average about 92-94%) and absolutely in love with architecture ever since I was little. I studied up until grade 11 in the United Arab Emirates and only grade 12 in Canada.

University admission:

I applied for: 

-waterloo: BAS and got rejected, given an alternate offer for Planning.

- UBC got in!!

- Mcgill: got waitlisted

-Carleton: rejected, given an alternate offer for Bachelor of Arts, history of architecture

Current plan:

I know that Vancouver is expensive and I want my family to be around, they are willing to move but not to Vancouver. I was hoping I could get into Waterloo because of their amazing program along with the co-op and Rome stuff. I am considering studying at UBC for a year then applying next year to Waterloo. Would that be possible or would the admission office be confused as to why I would apply for the same program I am at just in a different university? 

I know that Waterloo BAS does not accept students into the second year but if I am transferring from UBC Bachelor of design in architecture would they consider me a special case and possibly allow me to enter directly into the second year? Like maybe get in touch with the Dean of the faculty and explain my situation.

I am fine with doing the first year twice but is it worth it? Is there a major difference in the type of courses and learning at UBC vs Waterloo? There's also the advantage of my family moving with me to waterloo since it is considerably cheaper to rent than Vancouver. 

Jun 13, 21 12:09 pm
flatroof

Yes

Jun 13, 21 12:32 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur