Archinect
anchor

Do grad schools in the US favor international applicants who can pay full tuition ?

hoepiano

Do grad schools in the US favor international applicants who can pay full tuition ? Like will it be easier to get in if you can show that you’re able to pay in top MArch programs (GSD, Yale, Princeton etc) 

May 31, 21 1:41 pm
Non Sequitur

just ask daddy to donate a few million for a new gazebo or something. That’ll help your odds to get in. 

May 31, 21 1:49 pm  · 
1  ·  2
JLC-1

Why do you ask? It is well documented

May 31, 21 2:40 pm  · 
 · 
hoepiano

I ask because I’m from a “developing” in country in South Asia where the currency holds absolutely 0 value in relation to the USD, and I want to know what my odds are while competing against other international students who have the capacity to pay the ridiculous tuition fees for most American grad schools. 

I’m currently an undergrad studying architecture in a school in america and I have a full ride, but I can’t bank on getting similar funding for grad school :/ I’m not sure if most grad programs are need aware for internationals like they are for undergraduate programs 

May 31, 21 3:01 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

applications usually don't include a question to whether you can pay fully or not, the scales can be tipped after acceptance. If you find anybody buying his acceptance, then it will be another https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_college_admissions_bribery_scandal

May 31, 21 4:34 pm  · 
1  · 
greenlander1

It's been a while but last time I checked foreign students weren't able to get financial aid (need or merit based).  Was pretty much in the open that foreigners financed educations of lower income Americans.  It's not a new concept in schools other than architecture.

Jun 3, 21 6:35 pm  · 
nastronaut