Archinect
anchor

M.Arch I Preparation Advice

lukie

Hi there! 

I'm preparing to apply for M.Arch I programs come 2022, and I'd greatly appreciate any advice from someone who's done the same/has any helpful insight. 

A bit about me: I graduated from Boston College with a degree in Finance and Marketing. My CGPA was 3.30 - meh, I know, but I tended to get in the A range in all my arts/humanities/science classes - hopefully that will prove to be somewhat of a positive. My interest in architecture stems back to my early childhood, so I'm definitely not making this change on a whim. A number of events over the past few years have just pushed me to pursue my passions and not look back. I've also always had a knack for drawing and painting, and I love to create art in my free time.

Thus far, I've taken a couple needed prerequisite requirements. I'm also leaving my advertising job next month to take part in the Summer [IN]ARCH program at UCB. Hoping this will help me create some content for my portfolio and gain a good idea as to what a master's program might look like.

Although I feel I'm headed in the right direction, I could always use some extra guidance. Any advice is welcome!

May 25, 21 5:46 pm
jaredo

I also took an intro to arch course and come from a non-arch background. I'm beginning my M.Arch I program this fall. My advice would be to really emphasize process and showcase your thinking and intention behind your portfolio works and design decisions, particularly the ones that will come from your summer program. Aesthetics and form is all nice to look at, but if that's all one shows it will fall short, as schools (rightly) expect some underlying logic and intention behind the work, be it utilitarian, social, cultural, etc. I also recommend treating the portfolio itself as an exercise in design, pay attention to white space, limiting use of text, etc. Good luck! Anything's possible if you work hard.

May 25, 21 9:15 pm  · 
2  · 
lukie