Archinect
anchor

University of Colorado Information/ Advise

patrickboll

This is my first post, I'm a third year student at Arizona State University and starting to do some research on colleges for a Master's Program. I was wondering if anyone had any experience/ advise at UC Denver master program or there design-build program? 

May 17, 21 2:51 pm
JonathanLivingston

"their" design-build program. You will fit in perfectly.

May 18, 21 2:38 pm  · 
 · 

Don't be too much of a dick. A wee bit of a dingus is acceptable though. Carry on.

May 18, 21 5:20 pm  · 
 · 
JonathanLivingston

Ha, Yeah sorry. that was a snide remark.

May 18, 21 5:28 pm  · 
 · 
JonathanLivingston

Patrick, I went to CU undergrad and was extremely underwhelmed with the grad program in Denver. I think things have probably changed some but it was generally thought down of at the time. Anyone who was fairly decent at design left to complete grad school elsewhere. The faculty tended to be splitting their time between there and Boulder. The building felt like a rented corporate office, not as exciting as the more traditional studio experience in Boulder.  It was more of a satellite program than a true grad school.  

May 18, 21 5:34 pm  · 
3  · 
seel2884

I recently finished CU undergrad, or rather I went to CU Boulder. Many of my professors finished their MArch degrees at CU Denver, and I have several peers that continued their studies there. As a whole, I am seriously underwhelmed with the offerings of the program. The student work and facilities are both rather dull. I also feel that post-graduation job opportunities are mostly limited to Colorado. I don't think that their design-build is exceptional and believe there are plenty of other graduate programs that offer similar experiences. The cost of out-of-state tuition is also rather costly. I would strongly recommend searching elsewhere. Best of luck finding the right school!

May 18, 21 10:40 pm  · 
1  ·