Archinect
anchor

Is it a good choice to transfer my studies back home?

archibox3

So I'm studying B.Sc Architecture abroad at Vienna University of Technology, currently on my 7th semester but only have 67/180 ECTS, currently done almost 4 out of the 5 Studios.

Theoretically I should have been done but i'm not because a)personal problems b)Language gap (aka my fault mostly). I wasn't working part time. 

There are also many students who have similar case as me but I feel kinda unsure. According to the uni it's a 3 year course but it takes more than that and usually people take a year more or two to get done. 

What concerns me is that I'm in my third year and I'm not sure if I will be done within a year or two and I just want to get done with my bachelor's ASAP. 

Would it be a good choice to switch studies back home? 

May 10, 21 7:10 am
TED

The language thing is very understandable - I don't know how student do it in a different language.  Architecture is about culture and there are many universities and programs that take in international students and expect them to design to norms of a foreign culture and not bring in the understanding and richness of their individual background. So more likely your performance is not purely on language.

UK has a history in 'colonialism', the commonwealth and the dominance of the Empire. In the UK with some Unis and programs there is an awareness to 'Internationalize the Curriculum'.  I have to admit I have taught with many who wished to protect the canon of the discipline.  

The Bartlett has an initiative: 'the Liberating the Curriculum initiative' - very positive move in teaching.

I would worry less about the marks and focus on how much you have learned being adventurous and living away from places you are familiar with.