Archinect
anchor

Is AA degree still Worth it

YHIarch

Hi all,

I'm an international student and completed my RIBA part1 in the UK. I'm going to start my MArch [part2] this September. I got Part 2 offers from the AA diploma programme, UofE (ESALA), MSA, UAL, Uol (Liverpool), GSA. And I've been rejected by Cambridge and Bartlett part2.

I need to sign the admission form from AA to secure the offer place in a few weeks. But I am hesitant to make decisions between AA, ESALA, MSA. I know AAschool is prestigious, but I heard some news (I don't know it's a rumour or not) that AA school is not the one it used to be. And currently, there is no leadership in AA school cuz the director was fired last year. 

AA is a private school, so it seems like it's challenging to get a scholarship, and the living expenses in London is higher than in the other cities. 

But the most important thing I care about is the graduate perspective of these Unis/Schools. I know job-seeking relies on my portfolio standard, but from an overall perspective, I am not sure is it easy for AA part2 graduates to get a job in London? And is an AA degree still worth it?

I appreciate any help you can provide.
YHIarch

May 8, 21 5:21 pm
randomised

My uneducated guess is that the AA is still worth it as it’s the only school I know from all abbreviations and acronyms you just posted...

May 8, 21 6:24 pm  · 
9  · 
YHIarch

Thank you!

May 9, 21 11:26 pm  · 
 · 
TED

AA for certain.  As an International Student, the AA degree will give you more milage and the network of international grads is noteworthy.  Still the AA has such a great teaching faculty and guest lectures at least 2x a day.  Your down the road from the Bartlett and can take up their lecture also.  Remember your part II is mostly about making connections.

If you're planning to work post part II in the UK, London will give you much more for the pickings.