Archinect
anchor

Chances of me getting into Harvard GSD, MDes or MDE

I’m sure there are thousands of threads like these but what are my chances of getting into Harvard GSD MDes or MDE programs with 3.3 GPA?
I graduated from Cornell B Arch program and currently in progress for ARE test completion. After getting licensed, I plan on applying to Harvard GSD. The reason why I specifically want to study in these programs is because I want to study the effects of 4th Industrial Revolution and it’s impact on architecture and architectural practices. The alarming rate of environmental, cultural, and technological shift in our society is on the verge of displacing billions of people of their jobs and home, and I want to prepare myself for this change. Plus literally all of my potential references have graduated from Harvard so I have nowhere else to go haha.
I think I have a decent portfolio, somewhat solid references, and an interesting essay topic I can write on. But the only thing I am worried about is my GPA. I have A’s in most of my design studios, but mediocre grades on other classes. Do you think I can cover my weak GPA with my portfolio and resume? 

Thank you for your feedback!

Link to portfolio:

https://issuu.com/danielyungkyunlee/docs/portfolio_and_resume_online

Apr 25, 21 9:17 pm

Btw the portfolio is for my employment application. I still need to make one for school admission.

Apr 25, 21 9:22 pm  · 
 · 
Witty Banter

I don't work in admissions nor do I have any connection to GSD so consider that for what it's worth.  My understanding is that GPA is low on the list when it comes to applications.  Essentially if you meet the minimum for consideration it's not going to move the needle between you and your competition.  

In any case, you really can't do anything about your GPA at this point.  You can do something about improving your "somewhat solid references" and "decent portfolio."