Archinect
anchor

Architecture vs Dentistry

Alethiea

Hello Archinect,

I am currently in my first year of architecture school in Texas, and I am starting to doubt continuing my degree plan. Before applying, I was persistent for five years about architecture with my parents against Dentistry (I am trying to tire my bull-headedness). Before applying, I knew about the late hours of work on projects - I believed bargaining my starting 20's was issueless to achieve excellent grades. But after seeing the hundreds of people - and talented ones at that - in my university pursuing architecture/interior design, I don't think I can compare. 

From the upperclassmen, I always hear about graduates finding work through the AIAS. Though I find this easing my worry of unemployment, I still fear overworking myself past the 50-hour per week mark. I have seen the health toll of stress and overworking on my dad (project manager), and I'm afraid that the same will happen to me since I also have his health conditions. 

It seems that dentistry should be ideal, right? After all, it has sufficient pay, manageable hours, and work around the globe. Comparing the paths, architecture for me is debt-free, while dentistry will leave me 13,400 dollars in debt (this is only the tuition from the dentistry school nearby). They get paid by the number of patients rather than the time they spend at work. There is a high saturation of dentists in the United States, although this is from what I learned from dentists on YouTube. My skill set is significant in creativity and history and low in the sciences, so architecture seems like a sensible career path. 

I also want to mention that I love traveling and plan to stay for a long while with my grandparents in the Middle East. I'm not keen on money, and I don't plan on buying a house and starting a family within the next 15 years. I feel as though these desires weigh heavily on picking either architecture or dentistry.