Archinect
anchor

How to be good at detailing for construction drawings?

Carolh

I am going to graduate from Architectural technology program, but I am not good with detailing. I always struggled doing details, and they usually have something wrong. I watch videos and research to see if I can understand more on how things are assembled together, but it still seems to be hard to understand how to detail properly. I don't think I can do a detail without having another one as a reference. 

I am really concerned because my professor referred me to one company, and they offer me the job, but the professor made a referral before he saw my working drawings and detailing. I feel really pressured because I'm not good at it and afraid I won't do well in the company. 

I don't know what to do. I am wondering if I'm the only one that will graduate and don't know how to detail without having any drawing as a reference or doing the research before. 

How can you be good at detailing? Any advice, please?

Apr 6, 21 5:43 pm
Almosthip

Get a summer job swinging a hammer at a construction site.  Even a residential job will help

Apr 6, 21 5:45 pm  · 
6  · 
Almosthip

Also there is nothing wrong with researching and referencing other drawings. I'm senior staff and I still do both quite often.

Apr 6, 21 5:46 pm  · 
 · 
Carolh

The thing is that I will start to work in May, and unfortunately, I cannot do heavy work because of my health conditions or are there light working where I do not need to use much strength or carry heavy things? And wouldn't it be hard to get a job at a construction site since I don't have experience at all?

When you were a new grad, could you do a detail without referring to any drawings? Did you know how to do it 100%?

Apr 6, 21 5:51 pm  · 
 · 
Almosthip