Archinect
anchor

Master in Arch with civil eng bachelor's

barbaradaniels

Hello, 

I need some guidance and advice. So, I've always watched to get into architecture but I think that's mostly stopped me is self-doubt. I changed my mind about going with architecture in high school because (it may sound dumb now) but I can't draw and I was just nervous about being criticized for my creativity. 

Fast forward I turned my interest to civil engineering because I could rely on the technicality and not necessarily my creativity. In June 2020, I graduated from Carleton with BEng - Civil in the midst of a pandemic. That got me thinking, why don't I actually go back to my first love and pursue a career in Arch. My question is is it feasible to get into a Master in Arch without the educational background? Please advise.

Apr 1, 21 7:36 pm
Non Sequitur

Carleton, as in in Ottawa? If so, yes, they take non arch applicants for a 3y M.Arch. I trust that you’ve ventured into the arch building a few times to see what goes on in there. 

Apr 1, 21 7:38 pm  · 
 · 
barbaradaniels

​Yes, Carleton U in Ottawa and yes I've been in there. Do you think I'll be at a huge disadvantage with that path? I think I need a go-ahead if that it's possible in general

Apr 1, 21 7:48 pm  · 
1  · 
Non Sequitur

Not at a disadvantage, esp if you know what the school does. You will need to produce a competitive portfolio tho showcasing your creative thought process and aptitude.

Apr 1, 21 7:51 pm  · 
1  · 
barbaradaniels

Thanks so much. It's definitely encouraging. Do you have any advice on how to get started on the portfolio (maybe software-wise)?

Apr 1, 21 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Pick up a pencil and start sketching.

Apr 1, 21 8:24 pm  · 
1  · 
natematt