Archinect
anchor

In Desperate Need of Some Guidance

SSimms

We started our Barn Renovation journey over a year ago now, and after 4 building relationships with supposedly qualified people who advised us that they could help us through the process of Planning Permission, Listed Building Consent and Building Regulations we have wasted ridiculous amounts of money, time and the will to live. We are now no further forward than when we started this project, with less funds and at times limited passion, for what was supposed to be our dream home. Listed Buildings has requested 1:10 drawings of windows, roof lights etc, which out current PM had decided is not within their capability’s, and we really do not know where to turn or who to trust. Being complete novices we have replied and trusted in the experience and qualifications of professionals, none of which have delivered on expectation never mind promises, yet been happy to take our money and leave us abandoned. Can anyone help me understand what we have planning/permission for and where I can get these 1:10 drawings that Listed Buildings have requested. A recommendation of a good (inexpensive) architect would go a long way, preferably someone who has some understanding and experience of dealing with a list building and who is willing to take on our project?

Mar 31, 21 1:13 pm
Wood Guy

It sounds like you're the client? Perhaps in the UK? Is this barn a building you already own? Is it a currently a barn or a living space? Have you worked with an architect or only a builder on this project? What do you currently have for drawings and other documents? What do you have for signed contracts? 

Good architects are virtually never inexpensive architects. Investing in professional guidance will cost money, but will hopefully avoid further setbacks to the process. 

Mar 31, 21 1:26 pm  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur

1:10 is typical bread/butter type stuff...  sounds like you hired GCs instead of a design team.

Mar 31, 21 1:31 pm  ·