Archinect
anchor

Is an architecture degree still worth it?

noobhour

Hello, my name is Sam. I’m currently enrolled at UW-Milwaukee as an undeclared student. I’m a sophomore, so Im nearly out of gen eds to take. One path I’m interested in is Architecture. I’m reaching out to ask you what you think about your career and the field as a whole? Do you think it’s still worth getting a degree in architecture? Or would you recommend a different path for someone my age? What are the pros and cons of the field? I just don’t want to waste 6 years of college on something that isn’t very full-filing or a waste. I acknowledge that no field is perfect but I’d love to hear your opinion if you have the time. I know this is a very loaded question that has been asked many times before. I’m just curious to see if thoughts have changed as of the recent pandemic days. Thanks. 

Mar 27, 21 6:20 pm
SlammingMiruvor

How do you define worth? Financially, it's more than likely a losing proposition, especially if you have student loans to repay. It can be incredibly rewarding though, especially when buildings come out of the ground and renovations take shape. 

The pay isn't bad, but it doesn't match the amount of education, and professional experience required to practice. You're looking at 6+ years of education for the professional degree, 3+ years of 'supervised' professional experience, and 6 exams to call yourself an architect. When you compare that to law and medicine, and look at the pay across all three, architecture seems like a losing proposition. Personally they all offer similar levels of self-sufficiency and specialization.