Archinect
anchor

Switching into architecture

canitsus

I'm currently a first year undergrad in a STEM major, but found a serious interest in architecture. My current university doesn't offer a degree in architecture, meaning I don't really have any advisors I can get information from and I'll have to transfer. Since most application deadlines are closed, though, I'll need to wait for the next cycle to apply for transfer if I do decide to. I'm unsure as to exactly how hard it would be to transfer and am wary considering how long it may take me to graduate. I'm aware that if I apply for B.Arch programs, I may have just "wasted" two years of my life since it takes 5-6 years to complete it from the moment you're admitted into the program, meaning I'd have been in school for at least 7 years before graduating with a degree. Some have told me to just complete the Bachelor's degree I'm currently pursuing and then going back to school for architecture after I graduate so that way I'd have two degrees in my pocket after 9 years of school, but I feel like that might not be the way to go and, on top of that, will be pretty expensive. 

Are there any other straightforward paths that I could take? How do people usually transfer into architecture? Again, nothing's been set in stone and I'm still doing my research, but any tips on how I can get experience before jumping in or advice in general?

Here are just some things I've heard from others that kind of worry me: People either hate it or love it. What you do while in university is different than in employment. The field is oversaturated. Lots and lots of late nights. 

Mar 25, 21 12:19 pm
SneakyPete

If those things worry you, ask yourself whether you have the interest and ability to stand up for yourself and push back against employers that expect those things. This sometimes includes quitting a toxic firm.

There are no wasted years, just spent time and money. You've learned things other people in Architecture did not.