Archinect
anchor

Which one is better for B.ARCH, Cal Poly Slo, SCI-ARC, or USC (considering the quality of education and job prospects)?

anhbui

Hi, 
I recently got into Cal Poly Slo, SCI-ARC, and USC for B.ARCH.

I’ve received an offer of $30,000 scholarship for 2 years at SCI-ARC ($60,000 in total) and probably attend USC for free. ( I haven’t heard back from Cal Poly Slo regarding financial aid) 

I was hugely intrigued by the works of students from SCI-ARC and Cal Poly Slo. No offense, while I believe that the works from USC architecture are great as well, yet, they are still somehow less creative and not outside of the box in contrast to those from SCI-ARC and Cal Poly Slo. 

Cónidering only the quality of education and job prospects, which would be a better place to attend?

Mar 18, 21 11:41 pm
atelier nobody

I am an architect in the Los Angeles area, have worked people from all 3, and have occasionally been part of hiring decisions for people from all 3.

Your employment prospects from all 3 will be quite good - no big difference except that SC or SciArc might be a little bit better if you're looking to get into a "starchitect" office.

Quality of education is very good at SC and SLO - SciArc is a little too one-sided on the abstruse design and a little weak on the realities of architectural practice, but that's actually true of most architecture schools in the US and SciArc is only a little bit more that way than the average.

Consider cost of living - if you're paying in-state tuition at SLO, with a lower cost of living than LA, it could be more cost effective than the others even after whatever scholarships you get. No architecture degree from any school, no matter how prestigious, is worth being in debt until your 40s (or longer).

Mar 19, 21 12:39 am  · 
1  · 
natematt