Archinect
anchor

How often are you satisfied with your finalised buildings compared to your first concepts?

Eren_123

I obviously know architecture is not all about aesthetic design, but are most of your projects just glass blocks or is it more exciting than that? If they are, what actually brings you joy in working as an architect?

Mar 17, 21 3:28 pm

I'm never satisfied with my built work.  I can always find something that I could have done better.

That's part of what brings me joy as an architect, I'm constantly learning and improving. 

Mar 17, 21 3:45 pm  · 
2  · 

Yep - I'm always happy seeing the finished project but I'll nitpick the hell out of it with things I could do better next time.

Mar 17, 21 4:25 pm  · 
2  · 
SneakyPete

I'm very different than Chad, and I think that's OK. I can find a plethora of things that didn't go as well as I had planned, designed, or hoped. Some are my fault, some are not, and I learn from them all. But the one thing I keep repeating to myself is that nobody sees the building the way I do, and nobody knows the mistakes unless I tell them.

Feedback from my peers is always welcome, and criticism (as long as it is not intended solely to wound) is amazing. If nothing bad is said, I feel like a superhero, no matter how much the flaws I know about make me feel like a charlatan at the exact same time.

And I feel the need to say that none of my projects are "just glass blocks." Very few projects are. Even if the building is shrouded in curtain wall, the design is never as simple or easy as it looks, and the simpler and easier it looks from the final built work the more effort went into it. 

Mar 17, 21 3:58 pm  · 
4  · 

Bingo. Making something appear simple belies the often immense effort that went into making it that way. Also the msitakes that only you know and see. These can be useful - if played correctly.

Mar 17, 21 4:34 pm  · 
1  · 
natematt

95%