Archinect
anchor

Am I crazy?

O.Owl

I completed a MLA degree 4 years ago in a state university, and after working as an LA working on public projects, now I’m trying to switch my niche to Urban Design.

Honestly does anyone know if this is a higher paying career? Does it worth to pay 8-16k to get another master degree in UPenn or GSAPP? All I want at the beginning is to work on high profile projects... But I got to balance my check in the end.

Any advise??

Mar 12, 21 6:01 pm
SneakyPete

You'd be paying a high price for a sheet of fancy paper and (at best) access to some contacts.

Mar 12, 21 6:12 pm  · 
3  · 
O.Owl

That’s what I thought. I’m trying to explore my options to see if that worth the effort. I’m very into design and community
development.

Mar 12, 21 9:40 pm  · 
 · 
square.

although 8k (total?) isn't a horrible price.. just the missed wages. probably more fun than working though. hell i'd get a "useless" degree in philosophy or something for 8k.

Mar 15, 21 3:49 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Urban design? Ha.... sure, good idea. What’s next, a weekend-long barber certificate?  Very few gigs available for urban design grads. Should at least consider urban planning if you want a chance. 

Mar 12, 21 6:56 pm  · 
 · 
O.Owl

Well I’m sure there are companies acquiring UD positions and I’m not worrying about finding a job, especially with my previous working experience. On the other hand, the program in UPenn is actually a Master of City Planing Degree, but I’m not very familiar with the options out there for a MCP grads. Will
my LA background be helpful?

Mar 12, 21 9:17 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Well, my office advertises itself as one that offers urban design, and we've even won awards in that category yet, not a single staff has urban design "credentials". So, in the UD world, you're competing against more than your UD colleagues since anyone with a real architecture background is likely equal (or better) suited for that role.

Mar 12, 21 11:31 pm  · 
2  ·