Archinect
anchor

M.Arch RISD or Taubman?

juliacaroline

I have my B.S. in Conservation Biology and I've been accepted to both of these programs for the fall. 

On the one hand, I'm really attracted to RISD's conceptual nature and the idea of being immersed in a school of design after so many years in the science and biology field. RISD has also offered me more money, as well as an assistantship, and I appreciate it's proximity to NYC and Boston.

On the other hand, Taubman's focus on research and academia may help me get into my field of choice. Taubman also seems to have more variety in the electives available and there is the potential of applying to due a dual masters program with some form of environmental management.

My goal is too dive into bio-integrated design, as well as biomimicry, and biotechnology. I'm still new to the field and I would love to hear peoples opinions on the pros and cons of these programs. Thank you!

Mar 5, 21 4:59 pm
_gk_

Hello!

I did my undergraduate degree at Taubman and the University of Michigan truly opens doors. You have the opportunity to participate in research and create the research that you want to do. They award research grants for architecture students in the summer and it is very easy to get involved in interdisciplinary work. The University of Michigan name helps with professional networking as well as there are 600,000 living alumni who love to hire Michigan grads. 

The professors at the University of Michigan are so diverse in interests, research, teaching methods, and integration of technology. It is very easy to develop a community and to place yourself within the discipline and practice of architecture. Ann Arbor is also such an incredible place to live! It has amazing food, a beautiful campus, it is easy to get around, and you can enjoy the city and find your niche. 

Mar 8, 21 11:26 pm  · 
1  · 
juliacaroline