Archinect
anchor

advice for masters for an average student

ic0nic

Hi all, 

I'm a Junior studying architectural studies in a university in Asia. The studios are competitive and foreboding and there is not much sharing, just everyone secretly working their hardest and it's tough. I like what I'm doing, but it's never enough. Everyone seems to be doing better than me in terms of design concept, representation technique and software skills. I tried my best but I'm just an average student. 

I think I might be doing the worse out of my cohort... but I'm graduating next fall so I still want to apply to M.Arch I in the US since my current degree is not accredited. My degree is also quite arts based. I was recently rejected to several programs for RA/internships. My whole application is average, perhaps even below average (gpa below 3.4, portfolio average, gre not yet taken,). What do you guys think I could do to make my application stand out? Will working for a few years make my application more competitive? (but my gpa will still remain unchanged). Which master programs should I look into? 

Thanks all. 

Mar 2, 21 10:33 pm
bowling_ball

You still have plenty of time and options. By definition, most students are near average. I can tell you that most of the people I've worked for, were totally average students, and they'd tell you that if you asked.

There's a saying: "A's work for C's, and B's teach." 

As for ways to stand out? Go work in an office for a year or two. Better yet, go work in construction. Work on your portfolio. Take some classes to improve your skills if you can. 

Part of being a designer is problem solving. You've got a problem to solve here, so get at it. Good luck.

Mar 2, 21 11:30 pm  · 
3  · 
natematt

I'm curious if that saying seems to hold true in your experience for architecture profession.

Mar 3, 21 4:02 am  · 
 · 
RJ87