Archinect
anchor

Good schools for a masters degree in Landscape Architecture ?

bikko

Hello!

I'm an architect from Brazil and I'm currently applying for a Master's degree overseas. I most probably want to pursue a career in Landscape Architecture because I love designing public spaces. However, I do consider studying other concentration areas, as some institutions don't offer LA programs but seem very enriching places even so. 

It is the first time I send applications for institutions overseas, and I am a bit lost about where to apply, and how many applications it is safe to send (I mean, I would like to have at least one offer).

So far, I applied to 5 places:

- TU Delft (Landscape Architecture)

- University of Copenhagen (Landscape Architecture)

- Columbia GSAPP (Master in Urban Planning though)

- Paris La Villette (Master in Architecture)

- École Nationale du Paysage Versailles-Marseille (Landscape Architecture)

Is 5 applications is a safe amount?

Do you think of other interesting Landscape Architecture programs?

I'm considering Bartlett's MLA, but I keep wondering if it's already a bit too late to apply (applications go from November to May). 

Thank you all in advance, 

Laura

Jan 31, 21 3:56 pm
bullymaguire21

You're really applying to a broad spectrum of programs, considering the M.Arch and the Planning. If LA is your goal, I'd say send apps out to more programs, like Penn State, LSU, Cornell and UVa. There's also Harvard. Even within MLA programmes, each school's objectives can be incredibly different so be deliberate.

As an LA student, I can say this forum is probably not going to be very helpful for LA questions. From what I've seen over the years of reading is it's mostly architects, an allied profession. It is a great source of knowledge, but probably not the right pool of information.

The Landscape Architecture reddit is more representative and responsive to these types of questions.

Feb 11, 21 10:56 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla