Archinect
anchor

Advice for a new grad interested in landscape architecture?

hannah_lee

Hi, I’m a 2020 grad who is interested in attending grad school for landscape architecture in a few years. 

As I’m sure you're aware, the job market has been brutal. My initial plans were to work in anything conservation/environment/public space related for a few years then apply. However, the pandemic has really put a wrench in things, and I’ll be grateful to get a full-time offer anywhere. 

My question: What advice would you have for me in the time before I actually apply? Is there a portfolio I should be working on? (I don't really have one...) A research topic/focus area that I should be refining before I go into applications? 

Some background: I graduated from a small liberal arts school in MA with a 3.24 GPA in Environmental Studies. (Is that going to be a problem for my apps?) I am approaching landscape architecture as someone from an environmental background who is very intrigued by design and would like to work with green space in urban communities, with a focus on urban agriculture. My course load consisted of environmental studies, biology, geosciences, and one urban studies course (which is what got me interested in LA). 

Any and all comments are appreciated. 

Jan 24, 21 11:59 pm
bullymaguire21

I think it is an excellent opportunity. An LA studio has people from all sorts of backgrounds!

My BSLA is from Cornell. I'd say the MLA programme here is worth checking out. We do a lot of projects with urban communities in the local area. Also, it may be a little more affordable than some other big programs.

For portfolio, try to show your ability to draw. Maybe some polished perspective drawings and sketches. Experiments and volunteer/research are also very cool to include. Not everyone is great at drawing at my school, but you definitely want to show some potential.

Look on issuu for portfolio layout inspiration. Make sure it is neat with minimal text.