Archinect
anchor

Job Prospect Comparison (UK vs CA vs AUS)

sleepearlier

I am a Master of Architecture Graduate with three-year work experiences, now undertaking professional exams of my own country. Hope can be a Registered Architect very soon. Just few papers left.

Yet I am looking into opportunities overseas and further develop my career there. UK, Canada and Australia are the potential places. Thanks to the mutual-recognition agreement, my bachelor and master degree are recognized in these three countries.  But my future professional charter cannot. So I will very likely to take the professional exams again overseas.

I know that the pandemic is still harming the world's economy. Let's discuss about the cases before that, and assume the industry will be similar after the economy recovery.

The following is my analysis with some solid data. Please feel free to add any points or correct any inaccurate info.

Industry Prospect

Required Experience before eligible for professional exams(https://www.aaca.org.au/archit...)

• UK (RIBA/ARB)

• My bachelor and master is RIBA-recognised. 

• need to submit portfo and interview for Part 1 degree conversion

• need to take Part 3 courses

• 2 years work experience required.

• no restrictive requirement on logbook

• in which 1 year can be overseas exp. So I only need to work for one more year after I start my job in UK for taking the exams.

• Canada (CACB)

• My bachelor and master is CACB-recognised, under "Commonwealth Association of Architects (CAA)

• need to submit portfo for degree and master's further recognition

• 3 years work experience

• with restrictive requirement on logbook (i.e. work exp needs to cover a number of stages and tasks of a project)

• usually takes 3 - 5 years before taking exams (what i have researched online)

• Australia (AACA)
    • My bachelor and master is AACA-recognised, under "Canberra Accord”
    • need to submit portfo for degree and master's further recognition