Archinect
anchor

Looking to transition from Architecture to construction/project management role? Will a Construction Management Degree help me?

alandias

Hi Guys,

I am working as an architect for 3 years in a small design-build office. In the design division, I work on the design to detailing majorly on villas design and running around for approvals and stuff. In the build division part of my job, I have to make quantity estimation for many of the projects that come in.

Due to be being solely in the design department I have zero site knowledge and what generally happens on the site. I have visited sites a few times for inspection but have no idea on the day-to-day.

I have been working with a project manager in the company but over time the company has started distancing my job role so now I am only focused on design. During that time I have felt that I am more interested in construction management rather than the designing of buildings.

So now I am currently looking for a master or a diploma in construction management. I will also be doing to outside my country mostly Canada (looking to immigrate).

Question

• Has any Architect successfully transitioned into a project manager role with a degree? (I know I will have to start a base level and work my way up.)

• How hard will it be for someone with my experience?

• How can I prep or learn something on my own prior to going to college?

• Will the pay be good enough?

Jan 12, 21 12:46 pm
Cypher

I think you have a good, interesting job

Jan 12, 21 1:31 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

it’s ridiculous to think that someone can be an architect without knowing anything about site... and no degree will replace real experience on site getting your boots dirty. Best to look for opportunities in your current office rather than buying degrees. 

Jan 12, 21 1:35 pm  · 
 · 
martrench