Archinect
anchor

Abandon Architecture Undergrad?

aprillewis

I am a 2nd-year architecture student at a CA community college, going into my 3rd year of undergrad. A month or so recently I developed serious doubts about my major, thinking of my future and what I want it to be like: job, daily life, place of living, finances, and social life. As of now, I am pretty much on track for a grad transfer for B.A. in Arch. at UCB: I have a solid network, a good transfer plan/plan of action, some insight into the industry, via interviews from people who work in it (intern, junior, senior,) and completion of most of my base arch. classes (1 year to go.) However, the more I keep thinking of architecture, the more I am anxious and pessimistic about it, especially grad school. 

The prime and most important reason is that I no longer have the same excitement about it anymore now that I've gone through the more technical architecture classes, residential design for example. Other reasons include:

1) Worrying about my ability to climb the corporate ladder after uni. education or rather the time it takes to do so per effort.

2) Not at all ok with the dismal financial prospects of the profession.

3) A commonly reported lack of the creative aspect on the job in day-to-day life compared to other elements like legal and business inquiries. I want my job to be a good deal of collaboration, design, and business work, a nice mesh/combo of elements, none of which dominate the other two unless I wish it to. (Last bit accounts for any future endeavors I might pursue in the future: not everything can be planned.)