Archinect
anchor

recommendations for a liberal arts student unsure whether architecture or engineering?

knicksjets25

I am currently a first-year student at Vassar, an LAC. I plan on majoring in physics and a minor in architectural studies and math. I did not know I was very into architecture/structural engineering until now as throughout high school I feel I wasted a lot of my time, partly because swimming was very time-consuming. I am in a bit of a dilemma here since a liberal arts college does not offer an engineering or a B.Arch degree. I have asked already on engineer forums as many have recommended transferring assuming I am set on civil engineering. I decided to post here to get some other inputs from architects. Vassar does have a dual degree engineering program with Dartmouth, but unfortunately Dartmouth does not have civil engineering (they do have mechanical which I guess is the closest). I am not fully set on civil engineering yet as I am still considering architecture strongly. I know if I were to consider architecture the masters would be 3 years since I would be a physics major (this might change but my plan is since I minor in architectural studies I have a choice in graduate school between M.Eng/M.S or M.Arch.) The two problems I have right now is 1) no masters of engineering are ABET-accredited, and for civil the PE is vital I have heard and 2) M.Arch tuition prices are very expensive. I live in NY so the only in-state one I know of is Buffalo which is relatively reasonable for me. I really do not want to transfer but If that is the only option I will consider it.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. 

P.S: I have heard of a branch called architectural engineering, but not many schools seem to offer it. Can anyone provide insight on what architectural engineering is like?

Dec 1, 20 6:35 pm
midlander