Archinect
anchor

Architectural “strategy” that needs to have a relation with its environment

Nowords

Hello friends,

I’m a 3rd year architecture student, and I’m trouble with this teacher I have. He keeps insisting on not liking the concepts I’m coming up with, and says that I need to make “resolution” higher in my drawings. My real question is, I actually am trying to design a building with an agriculture area, in addition to that I have to place a library and some workshop areas for people to come and get education. Since this neighborhood I’m working on is a slum place, I need to think what they might be comfortable with. I also need to relate the building with its environment and current situation, but I’m seriously confused and don’t know where to go. My main idea was to create some place that allows users to use their senses except sight. I mean while they can’t see it, they might get the smell of grass or hear the people who work on farming. So, I need a suggestion about what may I do to relate this to the context of the building itself and the main strategy behind it. 

Nov 30, 20 11:17 pm
Non Sequitur

"My main idea was to create some place that allows users to use their senses except sight."

There's your problem.  Why?  Buildings are visual things first and foremost.  By removing sight (which is pretty damn silly and impossible), you're relying on non-design items (smell grass, sounds of heavy machinery, etc) to make your design.  How about you actually look at the design of the spaces and how they relate to each other before laying on a thick layer of abstraction.  I did get a good chuckle at the thought of some people randomly wandering around in the dark and bumping into a corn harvester or some sort of plow.

Nov 30, 20 11:24 pm  · 
1  · 
thatsthat

I think that's how someone loses a limb

Dec 1, 20 10:17 am  · 
 · 
Nowords