Archinect
anchor

[UK] Applying to Bartlett (Part 2) Straight Out of Bachelor's Degree (Part 1) w/o Work-Experience

izumiakihiko

First and foremost, I am an International Student currently studying in England. I am on a 3-years, BA (Hons) Architecture course (2018-2021).

I realised with the current situation, the chances of me landing a proper Part 1 year-out architectural assistant job is close to impossible (doesn't help that I am international student). I am a relatively good student with relatively good grades (Portfolio on the way!).

So, to get into the Master's September 2021 Intake, straight after I graduate from my Bachelor's on June 2021, I have to apply now, using my first 2-years of Bachelor's results only. UCL - Bartlett confirmed this is possible. I have also gotten 2 Referees too. Portfolio is still under construction.

So as a gauge, here's my results:

Year 1:

Year 2:

I know I am at an utmost losing end here, considering I am applying with only first 2-years of results, furthermore, NO YEAR-OUT experience. But I would like to hear from anyone from UK that does or had done admission to see if I have the slightest chance? I had done all my work, checked with all relevant department, guess I am here fishing for affirmation? #AnxietyStricken

Thank you...

Nov 11, 20 11:49 am
TED

Hi @izumiakihiko - it appears that you are at Portsmouth U. 

Your marks are good so work to get a 1st to improve your chances. 

Consider 'other' non-paid activities to support your application - volunteering is a great option.  Most students will be the same without year out experience.

But to be honest, UCL is very competitive so please don't put all your eggs in one basket.  Unis do form biases from past students performance from your university to judge how well the student may transition to their programme.  

Do only focus on Russell group uni for 2021 entry - top on my list is Queens University Belfast and Edinburgh.  

Nov 12, 20 6:26 am  · 
 · 
izumiakihiko