Archinect
anchor

Scale and dimensions

Raiden

Hi guys I am a First year Architecture student and I am really struggling in scaling. if the scale in floorplan is meter should I use meters in furnitures too? for example 1:30 in scale and 24 inches in real size, should I convert that into meters or I just write it on my plan 24inches? 

Nov 5, 20 2:05 pm

If you're working in metric then any dimensions should be in metric. 

Don't switch units on or in-between drawings. 

Nov 5, 20 2:15 pm  · 
4  · 
apscoradiales

Keep the plans in metric and scale the furniture to its exact metric size then insert it as a block. You can do a furniture schedule on the side of the plan; describe it there as a feet-and-inches furniture.

1:30 is a bit of an odd scale for metric floor plans. It's more common to do it at 1:100 or 1:50. I've sometimes done individual room floor plans at 1:20 or 1:25 (for hospitals, for example).

Nov 5, 20 2:24 pm  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur

you think 1:30 is odd? Talk to my office designers... they will show you 1:35, 1:175, 1:15, etc.... you can typically get away with most school stuff at 1:50.

Nov 5, 20 2:51 pm  · 
 · 
midlander

i'll never forget the german intern in my office who assured us working in US units was no problem, and then set up his plans to the scale of 0.1"=1'-0"

Nov 5, 20 7:24 pm  · 
1  · 
Raiden

this is my draft is this right? I dont know what to do. 

Nov 5, 20 2:24 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

sharpen your pencil... also, don't dimension to nonsensical things like the curve of the OS chair. figure out it's size as a square and use that as reference. (pro tip: unless it's bolted down, furniture is movable so try to focus more on clearances between the pieces rather than the width of the armrest)

Nov 5, 20 2:54 pm  · 
1  · 
apscoradiales

Don't dimension furniture on architectural drawings, unless you're making something custom just specifically for the project. Pay more attention to clearances and spacing around it.