Archinect
anchor

Career advise? Doing a job unrelated to architecture

pegazeus

Hi! I'm a recent architecture graduate (couple months ago) with no prior experience and with the current economic climate, it is getting increasingly difficult to get one. The plan was always to do a year of technical experience then go back to university to do my Masters, something I will not do without the technical experience because the universities that I want to go to require them (and I won't just do my part II anywhere just for the sake of doing it).

Anyway, that's not what this is about. The thing is, I have not broken into the field yet, but I also have a lifelong dream of moving and living in Japan/Korea as well, and the quickest way to do this is through teaching as a TEFL (English teacher) -- something that is extremely tempting with how everything is here in the UK at the moment. I think doing it after Masters would be a bigger risk and would make it harder for me to get back into architecture, but this also means that I might not even get the experience I need to even do Masters since employers (that I would need to get employed first) might view the fact that I've got no prior experience and I graduated more than 2 years ago (potentially up to 3).

By living there, I could also potentially learn the language and immerse myself in the culture which I think would be a good asset in the future but I'm not sure if employers would see it that way.

I'm currently earning money working a graduate job completely unrelated to architecture to potentially fund my moving there if I decide to do it. Moving to Japan with the visa TEFL provides would mean that I technically can't do work in Architecture and I'm planning to be gone for about a good 2 years at least.  

Would this be advisable though? Would this close the doors into the field for me? What do architects/employers think about this? 

Nov 3, 20 10:45 pm
r0sef1nch