Archinect
anchor

Undergrad degree (RIBA Part 1 accredited) holder applying to the U.S for M.Arch

DustFlâneur

Hello all,

I am a recent graduate with a RIBA part 1 (undergraduate) degree from the UK. I plan to apply to the US for the M.Arch, but I am a little confused about whether my degree is recognised as a professional degree in the US. So, would I be applying to the M.Arch I programme (which applies specifically to those with generic undergraduate degrees or pre-professional architectural degree) or the M.Arch II programme (which applies to those with a professional undergraduate degree in architecture)? 

And, if it is the latter, is it uncommon to find fresh graduates in the M.Arch II programme? Is it usually expected that M.Arch II applicants have a few years of work experience before applying? 

I am planning to send out applications to Columbia GSAPP and Yale, so I am wondering whether it is usually easier to get into M.Arch I or M.Arch II? And, are there any applicants who have a similar undergraduate degree from the UK and have then applied to M.Arch in the US, who would be willing to share their experience of applying to the US?

Thanks!

Oct 29, 20 1:24 pm
TED

You should apply for MArch II as RIBA Part 1 is a professional degree. Helps also if you have a 1st from a great programme. It is always better to have real life experience prior to entering US Graduate programs as it helps you shape where you want to go with your research. 

Oct 30, 20 5:20 am  · 
 · 
luvu

RIBA Part 1 is a PRE-professional degree (part II is). Generally M.Arch II is for those who already have a 5-year B.Arch or Prof. M Arch. 

The OP / finish your professional degree whether it's in the UK/US... I highly doubt the intensity/value of the post-profession masters

Nov 1, 20 10:00 pm  · 
 · 
TED

Depends on Uni - You are correct for Yale 

Nov 2, 20 3:23 am  · 
 · 
DustFlâneur