Archinect
anchor

BEnvD UofM vs. BEDS Dal ?

jean.doucette

I am a working health care professional looking at architecture programs to go back to school in a few years. I am looking more at Carleton, UofM and Dal. 

I would more specifically like feedback on both BenvD and BEDS, pros and cons as well as the likelyhood of getting into M.Arch after.

Thanks in advance, 

J-F

Oct 25, 20 10:49 pm
newbie.Phronesis

BEDS fast tracks you into their Masters. No idea on U of M, believe similar. Haven't you already looked into all this last year, judging from your comment history?

Oct 26, 20 12:23 pm  · 
 · 
jean.doucette

Yes, I was mostly asking about 3 year M.Arch like Carleton or Calgary.

Oct 26, 20 2:23 pm  · 
 · 
claudz

Hey, not sure where you're thinking of doing your Masters, but it's definitely something to consider when looking into Bachelor programs. I went to Dal and graduated with a BEDS degree. You're pretty much guarantied to be accepted to the Dal Master's, but if you're planning on studying elsewhere, it's not that simple. For example, McGill is not a fan of Dal students, and the fact that BEDS is not a 'bachelor of architecture' makes things a little more complicated at some other schools as well. Some schools might accept you with a 'catch up year' though. 

Hope this helps a little!

Oct 26, 20 12:39 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

there are no bachelor of architecture in canada anymore... even at the top schools. Some are just closer to the classic B.Arch than others hence the picky selectiveness from the top dogs (Loo, McGill).

Oct 26, 20 12:45 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Jean, do you already have a bachelor's degree?  If so, even if it's in an unrelated field, you could try your hand at a M.arch directly.  Some schools take non-architecture students.

Oct 26, 20 12:46 pm  · 
 · 
jean.doucette