Archinect
anchor

Tips on portfolio building when coming from a non-design background

KingsMake

Personal fluff

Ok so I studied business and absolutely hated the crap out of it. I feel like it was a waste of a degree -however- I taught myself how to use Rhino, Vray, Grasshopper, Adobe Suite.. etc. I taught myself these skills on the side and I started designing products.  Now, every job or gig I receive comes from my 3D skills and, again, my 4-year business degree hardly helped me. The degree only taught me how much I love designing shit. 

I made an architecture portfolio during my business degree and at the same period I started learning Rhino. This was around 3 years ago, and since then, my intuition for design became much much better. (The work on my site is mostly very shitty compared to what I know I am capable of -especially the architecture page: aidenkashi.com) But, again, the architecture work is mostly from years ago. 

I have beautiful ideas in my head- the sort of things I dream about when Im in bed. And, although my work sucks, it was all a fantastic learning curve. I know Rhino cold, I have a better intuition for design, and I see progress since the days I was modelling buildings during Accounting class. If someone gave me a solid year to work on whatever the fuck I wanted, I would create an amazing portfolio. The issue is that I am an adult -soon a married one. Where can I find a year? Most of the jobs that I have had did not yield anything I could put on my portfolio or website. I created renderings for a watercooler company. I worked for an interior designer to render his designs. I can’t put those designs on my portfolio…

I want to get into a decent graduate school to further build my skills, my resume, to network and to build my portfolio. But you need a great portfolio in order to get into these programs in the first place. 

Main question