Archinect
anchor

McGill M.Arch for international student?? Other options?

Jmmu23

Hi, so I am planning to apply for a M.arch program in Canada and I've been researching and reading previous threads here in the forum. My plan is to take one that doesn't take me longer than 2 years because I am currently studying architecture here in Peru so I'm planning to take the advanced placement. So far I think McGill is really the option I like most but I'm curious of why it only takes 1.5 year to finish it while others take 2 or more years? And I've also seen that maybe is not the best option for an international student. I really would like to study one that gives me an inside of how things are done there in Canada, I was really excited about Waterloo too until I saw is unprovable that they accept an international student and it also takes longer than 2 years.

What about other options like UBC, it's in the second place in the international rankings among canadian universities next to UofT. Now I've seen a lot of negative comments about UofT and its undergraduate program and toxic environment but what about its M.Arch program. Is it also that bad? Because it seems that they're most probable to take international students.

Finally I was reading this page (http://www.acsa-arch.org/resou...) and one program that really called my attention was the one from Carleton but I haven't seen a lot of comments about its M.Arch program. Do you think is a better choice for an international student?? I'm really excited about McGill, I would say is my number one choice and UBC and Carleton are in the second place, I'm not sure about UofT I hope that you can give me some comments about its M.Arch program or maybe I should consider some other universities.

Sorry for this long thread and for my bad writing, but I hope you can help me about taking the right decision.

Sep 6, 20 4:10 pm
newbie.Phronesis