Archinect
anchor

Australian undergrad applying to master programs in the UK and the US

woo-hoo

Hi folks. I'm an architecture student who just graduated from the University of Melbourne in Australia this June, and received a Bachelor of Design degree with a major in architecture. I'm planning to give a shot at some top-tier schools including UCL and Cambridge in the UK, and Yale, GSD, MIT in the US. (For sure I will also apply to not-so-unreachable but as well amazing schools like Sci-Arc and RCA etc as backups).

I am not too concerned about my portfolio BUT I do worry about my GPA. In my school we call it WAM, which is basically the 100-mark marking system. My design studios are generally doing not bad, most of them (3 subjects) are scored high H1 (which is 80+, in fact I got 85+ for these 3 subjects, one of which received 94), 1 studio is marked 77, one is marked 65 (ooops). But my performance in technical subjects like construction and sustainability-related are not quite as satisfying, majorly because I was too fascinated with architectural theories and fancy renderings and gave no fuk to these same important knowledge. Hence I received Pass (50 - 65) for most of them. So my overall WAM is 76 (H2A).

I am aware that a 76 WAM isn't good enough, but when I attempt to calculate it into 4.0 scale GPA, I got 3.0. I don't know what is the right conversion method so I tried using another method from online, and then I got 3.5. Weird. 

I just checked the website of Cambridge and UCL, and their requirement for admission makes me kinda upset. Cambridge required a four-year honors program with 70% gpa if the undergrad was done in Australia. UCL then requires, as it states: 

• Bachelor (Honours) degree at Second Class Honours (Upper Division/Division A/Division 1), H2A or 75%
  • Bachelor's degree at High Distinction, 80% or 85% (depending on grade scheme), 7/7, GPA 4.0/4.0 or 8/10