Archinect
anchor

New Interior Design Student at Boston Architectural College

thomasjosephholmes

I am new at BAC, I live South of Boston, and I'll be doing my classes online, and I am taking 3 Interior Design courses for a Certificate.

I am taking the Color Theory, Interior Lighting, and Intro Studio 1 classes.  I ordered the books, I am looking at the materials.  I am not working at this time, so I can dedicate 40 hours a week if not more to my classes.

Am I in over my head?   I have never done drafting before or taken any classes like this before, but I am super creative and have done a lot of my own projects and decorating.

Ultimately, I don't want to be an Architect, I want to be doing  more Interior Design work, staging spaces ... I don't see myself suggesting walls get moved, or re-designed, I want to decorate an interior spaces.  So, I thought a Certificate for Interior Design would be the best thing.  Am I correct, or will I be in way over my head?   

Thanks very much for your patience with this newbie!

Aug 23, 20 4:45 pm
Non Sequitur

you don’t need post secondary education to do decorating. 

Aug 23, 20 5:47 pm  · 
1  · 
raquelchanning

some states and projects require certification in interior design or you can’t consult or do any work professionally

Aug 23, 20 7:48 pm  · 
 · 
Aluminate

Only 3 states regulate the practice of interior design. All the other +/- 30 states that have licensing or registration for interior designers regulate only the use of titles that an unlicensed person can/can't call themselves.

Aug 23, 20 8:55 pm  · 
 · 
Jay1122