Archinect
anchor

Architecture, Interior Architecture, or Interior Desisn?

young_d

Hello everyone,

I'm a high school student, looking for help and explanations regarding college majors and career path to follow. I really like making/ drawing floor plans and design rooms. I'm pretty good at math, especially geometry, and also good at CAD programs. My goal for my future job is to make plans and design small houses for families, not really into large constructions or urban planning

I'm confused between Interior Architecture and Interior Design, how are they different from each other. And what is the reason that many people would prefer Interior Architecture rather than Architecture itself?

Thank you in advance.

Aug 16, 20 11:48 am
Non Sequitur

Architecture > Interior Design

also, interior architecture is just interior design re-branded.  It's the same thing.

Aug 16, 20 2:58 pm  · 
4  · 
ivanmillya

Architects can always do interior design, and lots of times they do, either as stand-alone projects, or as part of their scope of services. Interior Designers (self-labeled) cannot stamp buildings for permit or construction. Also close to 0% of the interior designers I've worked with know anything about building or accessibility code when it comes to space layout, finishes, fixtures, etc., which makes them a PITA to work with. Don't be a PITA. Don't become an interior designer.

Aug 17, 20 9:13 am  · 
4  · 
not_NOT_an_architect

I work a lot with interior designers, and yes, some of them are a PITA to work with - mostly because of bad technical skills or being unable to navigate a drawing set. That being said, after working with some amazing interior talent, I've come to learn that a lot of architects are TERRIBLE interior designers. Like, really really bad. We are not trained at all to think about interiors the way interior designers are. 

Aug 26, 20 9:58 pm  · 
 · 
atelier nobody