Archinect
anchor

Grad School Portfolio Tips

hels_bells_

Hello all!

Applying to grad schools for Fall 2021 and would appreciate some tips to spice up my portfolio. Background: I got my BS in Architecture from a small uni in Louisiana, graduated this past May. My overall GPA is a 3.73, but my GPA in my major is about a 3.9. My GRE score wasn't great- 147V,153Q,5AWA. I have one past internship experience and will be embarking to Switzerland for 6 months on another in three weeks. I hope to get into a prestigious school but because of my GRE score I'm a little worried so I want to make my portfolio look damn good.

Here is my current portfolio- not great I know, but I did it quickly during the semester while applying for jobs. I plan on reworking the whole thing. Let me know what you do like and what you think needs work. 

https://issuu.com/helenalecocq/docs/portfolio

P.S. If you plan on being rude on crushing my dreams, please just don't comment lol I'm already tender from getting crappy GRE scores. Thanks!

Aug 7, 20 4:39 pm
thatsthat

I didn't look super close at your portfolio.  That being said, I think the images are pretty successful.  I would reconsider the font choice; it is very fine and may be hard for some to read on a monitor.  I'm unclear about what the graphic on the front cover has anything to do with the projects inside.  The text notes on your wall section on p. 9 are too small and pixelated to read.

You may want to consider retaking the GRE, especially if it was your first time taking it, and investing a little bit in a study program.  Your scores aren't awful, but probably close to average.  This chart has the averages for each major. https://www.ets.org/s/gre/pdf/gre_guide_table4.pdf 

Aug 7, 20 5:01 pm  · 
 · 
hels_bells_

Thank you so much for taking a second to look at everything! I really appreciate it. I'll definitely make those adjustments.

Aug 9, 20 12:01 pm  · 
 ·