Archinect
anchor

M.Arch I or M.Arch 2 for a foreign architect??

Jmmu23

Hi I am going to start my last year of my undergraduate studies next year. I am studying architecture in Peru. The Peruvian government is encouraging students to study postgraduate studies abroad but I am a little confused about the difference between M.Arch 1 and M.Arch 2 and which one I should choose. So let me explain my situation

After I finish my undergraduate and get my bachelor's degree, I will need to work 1 year before I start my master's program and get the scholarship that the Peruvian government is offering.( This is a requirement from the government, independently of what I am studying or where I am going) In that year I will also get licensed here in Peru. I understand that MA 1 is for people that hasn't studied architecture and wants to become licensed in the US and MA 2 is for people that has and doesn't want to become licensed. But what if I do study architecture and I do want to become licensed in the US. And also I have the same doubt if I were to go to Canada.

Thank you for your help.

Aug 1, 20 2:58 pm
autofireunit

MArch 1 and 2 both are accredit programs that can get you licensed. You don't get to pick which one you apply. So based on your situation you are forced to apply to MArch 2. It is still a valid accredited program and you can get licensed after that 

Aug 1, 20 10:09 pm  · 
1  · 
natematt

I feel compelled to say this every time someone makes a post about master's programs which is only evidence that people don't understand it.