Archinect
anchor

Should I go back to school?

laurenocannon

Hello, everyone! This is my first post on here, nice to meet you all. 

So my question is rather complicated, at least that's how it feels in my life. I am a senior level graphic designer who has always wanted to enter into the historic redevelopment/adaptive reuse field. In fact, before starting my career in graphic design, which I sort of just fell into, that is what I wanted to do, but wasn't quite sure how to do it. Sadly, not much has changed. 

I would love to renovate old buildings for modern day use. I'd like to own my projects, but I realize that may be limiting to what I can do. I am drawn to the idea of buying something old and forgotten, then renovating it while maintaining historic and cultural integrity to become a focal point in the community. I am also interested in combining adaptive reuse projects with graphic design, in creating branded in environments. One of my favorite projects like this is the Gilmore Gas Station in LA which is now a Starbucks. I do have a little background in branded environmental design, with a small handful of branding projects I have lead, but nothing that ever really came to see the light of day. 

Is it worth going back to school and earning my degree in architecture and taking a more tradition route (school -> internships -> full time work -> licensure) or is it possible, with my background, to get into that realm without being a licensed architect? I am completely open to starting small, if school isn't the right route, and building my portfolio from there. BTW, I have been saving for my first project since I was 14 years old, half of my life. 

Thanks for your help! 

Jul 22, 20 3:21 pm
thisisnotmyname