Archinect
anchor

Camera for Architecture School?

minnetexan

My coworker is offering to sell me his Nikon D5200 for $200. He's had it for a few years and its in great condition, but he recently upgraded to a new camera. I have basic photography knowledge but this would still be a learning curve, so I'm not sure how time consuming (or practical?) it would be on top of learning new software programs in school...

So my questions are:

1. Is this even a good deal?
  2. Would it be useful or even necessary to have for school? (M.Arch)
  3. For anyone who owns a fancy-ish camera, when do you find yourself using it the most? 
  4. Overall, would it be worth it to own one professionally or just as a hobby?

Jul 20, 20 6:34 pm
archanonymous

For actual coursework or professional job requirements, no, you don't need a fancy camera. If it helps you curate an interest in our urban fabric, buildings, details, or travel, then it will probably pay off in the long-term though that payoff might be intangible. 

I have a D5100 which is even older with 3 lenses and it's still a solid camera for DSLR work. I probably use it 2-3 times a year. I also have a Ricoh GR2 which I greatly prefer for 90% of situations, travel, arch photography, and it takes stunning model photos too. I use it every week. 

Jul 20, 20 6:54 pm  · 
2  · 
Hector15

Agreed. A fancy camera is not needed here. No point in wasting precious dollars behind the thing that is not needed at all 

Jul 20, 20 10:31 pm  · 
2  · 
bowling_ball

If it's no older than 10 years and has a good quantity of available lenses, then it's more than good enough for anything less than professional photo work.

Jul 20, 20 10:34 pm  · 
1  · 
BabbleBeautiful