Archinect
anchor

Architecture Student Writing

Sara Lah

Hello, 

I am a PhD student and I am carrying out a study to investigate the writing and linguistic needs of architects.

I am now collecting the writing of practising architects and that of students. I would like to ask if anyone has any writing they produced while studying.  I am especially interested in Design and Technical Reports, as well as any dissertations. 

Please, let me know if you have any writing you can provide me and let me know if you are interested in having a discussion with me about my topic. 

P.S: This study is ethically approved by Coventry University and all writing will be kept confidential and anonymised. 

Thank you very much,

Sara 

Jul 1, 20 9:05 am
ivanmillya

Often, architecture students produce more design work (drawing production etc.) than they do typical thesis work (i.e. writing about design). You may have some luck finding theory writing done by architecture professors more than you will from students or practicing architects.

Jul 1, 20 11:03 am  · 
 · 

Thank you for your comment. I am aware that Architecture students produce more drawings than writing, and this is the point! I am focusing on under-studied genres and writing that is similar to practitioners, so writing about design is what I am aiming to collect and look at. Even though I may not collect many writing samples, I am expected to get authentic examples of writing that prepares students for the workplace.

Jul 2, 20 6:24 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

I had a lot of architectural writing assignments at my school in the 1990's.   On the other hand, some of my friends at other schools wrote next to nothing.

Jul 1, 20 11:44 am  · 
1  · 

Thank you for your comment. May I ask where you went to school?

Jul 2, 20 6:25 pm  · 
 · 

Thank you for your comments! If anyone can help me collect writing, I would really appreciate it. 

Jul 2, 20 6:23 pm  · 
 ·