Archinect
anchor

Experience with Summer Courses to prep for M.Arch admissions

brenersk

I am interested in pursuing a masters degree in Architecture. I've always wanted to pursue a career in architecture, but for various reasons I chose to pursue a bachelor of engineering degree instead. Now that I have established a career, I realize that this is not what I want to do and I'm looking to make a change. 

As I said, my degree is in engineering, so I don't have a design background. My only experience in design are art courses in high school, and creative hobbies and DIYs that I play around with. I do have experience with mechanical drawings though, so I know my way around CAD software, just not a whole lot. 

I am in NYC so I found intro to architecture courses like at Columbia University and Parsons. I intend to apply to these course to get a better insight to what architecture actually is and to get a starting point for a portfolio. Due to COVID I think I need wait a little longer because the courses seem to be studio involved and I don't see how the course could translate to online learning. But prove me wrong if my statement is not accurate. 

Anyway, my question is: Those who did not have a background in architecture, but wanted to pursue an M.Arch, did you take a course of this nature, and did it help you to get in to an M.Arch program? Was it useful in forming a portfolio? Was it useful in anyway? 

I know that architecture is not the best paying and the work is hard, that is what drove me away in the first place to pursue a degree in engineering. Engineers make money. However, all the money in the world does not guarantee happiness. Any job worth doing is going to be hard, but if I have to spend a LARGE portion of my life at work I would rather at least attempt to pursue something I've always dreamed of  doing. I don't know if I can just work for the paycheck anymore. Plus, I'm not getting any younger!