Archinect
anchor

Architectural Technology graduate seeking for advice.

dlee1995

Please disregard if content is not related. 

I am seeking for an advice. I am an Architectural Technology College graduate (in Toronto, Canada) with a GPA of 3.3. As there are not many architecture universities who do not accept external transferring students in Toronto due to their belief the curriculum course load is not compatible with what I learn’t at my college. Sadly, I have tried to apply to Ryerson University (a university in Toronto) where I had spent 2 years trying to prepare myself as best to my abilities. This was one of the reasons in hopes of staying close to home for my parents to support me instead of having my parents burden a huge load of finance investing my education initially at LTU. (Lawrence Technology University) As of this year, I was struggling and wasn’t able to make it to the cut with Ryerson as I tried my very best and due to the nature of it’s program being competitive. Ryerson's Architectural Science is complicated and has ridiculous requirements (going back to receive my high school university level course maintaining a average of 70’s – 80’s, create a traditional art (not technical) portfolio, and a drawing test. One of the reasons why I didn’t make it because of my lack of drawing creativity by hand, I’m so used being adapted to draw on the computer which would make sense especially in today’s architecture industry. I choose Ryerson because they have similar context and workload like my college unlike other architecture universities surrounded or near Ontario are most theoretical and some don’t strongly emphasize enough or balance on Revit or technical drawing courses (Grasshopper, Rhino and CAD) but more creativity on itself. I graduated from having the learning experience practical than most other universities that stand today. Unfortunately, Ryerson does not think this way and want postsecondary graduates to start from scratch making it realistic