Archinect
anchor

3-D scanning

John doughty

I just built a 900 square-foot ADU in my backyard. I was a self contractor and I’m sure I don’t have to tell you the permit process was a whole Lotta fun even with an architect :-).  The one unexpected thing that came from it was that after the project was done my architect found out I had a MatterPort camera and we started scanning in projects for him which turns out to be a huge timesaver and game changer. I can scan a home or a piece of property in an hour or so and give him a complete set of floorplans a 3-D model and an OBJ file for CAD which gives him all the information he needs to start the remodel in one day. My problem is I have found this new market but I’m not sure how to get this information to you guys, “architects“ because This technology is so new to this industry I’m having a hard time contacting architects to give them this information. Any suggestions!

Jun 13, 20 10:11 pm
OneLostArchitect

you arent the only one... alot of companies are offering this service.

Jun 14, 20 10:23 am  · 
 · 

This is has been around for years, and worked with a company on a large project for this.  My only issue and if the following is still not provided it's not all that useful - can I get the 2D plans in CAD and if so are they still being fixed by humans or is it automated now?  The OBJ is way too detailed to be of any use to most architects besides having a google map like model to explore, which is better than photos and videos.

Jun 14, 20 10:34 am  · 
1  · 
archiwutm8

New to this industry? it's not new at all. You don't provide point clouds to 99% of firms because they either don't know how to use it, its time consuming or they just don't have the software to be able to use usable point clouds.

3D meshed modelled don't work either because its either unreliable or far too large to work with.

You don't provide the client the data, you provide them the end product.